Athletics at Taft College

Taft College has had a strong athletic tradition since its inception. We offer students the opportunity to participate in several intercollegiate sports. Women may participate in volleyball, basketball, golf, soccer and softball; and men may participate in baseball, golf and soccer. The main goal of our Athletic Department is to develop the student-athlete both on the court/field as well as in the classroom. Our sport programs teach athletes the value of discipline, loyalty, hard work, good health and good sportsmanship. The ultimate goal for each student-athlete is to graduate with an Associates Degree after their 2 years at Taft College.

Taft College Advantages:

  *Located about 35 miles southwest of Bakersfield
  * One of few community colleges that have dorms
  *On-campus work-study program available
  * Book loan program that helps to offset the high cost of textbooks.
  *A free tutorial program
  *Our greatest asset is our small size! We can offer students personal care

Athletic Eligibility:

Athletic eligibility rules and regulations are strictly enforced at Taft College. In general, you must be an amateur athlete who has not participated in intercollegiate athletics at any other college or university. You must be enrolled in, and actively attending 12 units or more with at least 9 of those units counting toward the associate degree, remediation, transfer and/or certification during your season of participation.

To compete in a second season of sport, an athlete must complete and pass 24 units with a 2.0 grade point average between seasons of sport and pass at least 6 units during the preceding semester of the second season of sport. Transfers who have participated in athletics at another California community college must complete 12 units at Taft College before becoming eligible. Since these are general guidelines only, questions regarding eligibility should be referred to the appropriate coach or athletic director for clarification.


Taft College competes in the Central Valley Conference. The conference is comprised of 11 schools: Cerro Coso College, Clovis Community College, Columbia College, Fresno City College, Merced College, Porterville College, College of Sequoias, Reedley College, Taft College, West Hills College-Coalinga and West Hills College-Lemoore.

California Community College Athletic Association (CCCAA):

The California Community College Athletic Association (CCCAA) is the governing body responsible for oversight of intercollegiate athletics at California community colleges. The purpose of the CCCAA is to establish and oversee the enforcement of the rules and regulations and to guide the administration of the intercollegiate athletic programs of the California community colleges. The membership organization functioning under the jurisdiction of the Commission on Athletics is the California Community College Athletic Association (CCCAA).  For access to the Official Site of the California Community College Athletics, please go to